Provision in the independent sector for pupils with special educational needs and disabilities

Share

by Service Parents' School To Boarding Schools, special educational needs and disabilities
Provision

Pupils with SEND continue to be very well educated within the independent sector and this is undoubtedly one of the sector’s strengths. Many parents of children with special educational needs and disabilities take them out of the maintained sector because the class sizes are too big and they feel there is not enough individual support.

Share

The independent sector offers a range of choice not available within the maintained sector. Specialist Provision Schools (SPS) are approved for specific learning difficulties, with associated language difficulties, such as dyspraxia and attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD). Dyslexia Specialist Provision Schools (DSP) are established primarily to teach pupils with dyslexia. There are also mainstream boarding schools with designated units or centres providing specialist tuition on a small group or individual basis. In January 2015, 66,026 pupils (33,311 boarders) were identified as having SEND. The most common SEND is dyslexia (321,169) followed by information processing (9,053), dyspraxia (5,459), gross and fine motor skills (3,720) and Asperger’s syndrome (3,597). The table below lists independent boarding schools on the CReSTeD Register providing support for pupils with SEND . 

Independent boarding schools on the CReSTeD Register providing support for pupils with SEND

Specialist Provision Schools (SPS) are approved for specific learning difficulties, and associated language difficulties, dyspraxia and ADHA.

Category SchoolTownWebsite
SPSAppleford SchoolSalisbury www.applefordschool.org
SPSMark CollegeHighbridge www.priorychildrensservices.co.uk
SPSMore House School Farnham www.morehouseschool.com
SPSNorthease Manor Leweswww.northease.co.uk
DSP St David’s CollegeLlandudnowww.stdavidscollege.co.uk

 

Dyslexia Specialist Provision Schools (DSP) are established primarily to teach pupils with dyslexia.

Category SchoolTownWebsite
DSPBredon SchoolTewkesburywww.bredonschool.org
DSP Bruen Abbey School Chesterton, Oxfordshirewww.bruenabbey.org
DSP Frewen CollegeRye www.frewencollege.co.uk
DSP Mark CollegeHighbridge www.priorygroup
DSP Moon Hall SchoolDorkingwww.moonhallschool.co.uk
DSP Moon Hall CollegeDorkingwww.moonhallcollege.co.uk
DSP Shapwick SchoolBridgwaterwww.shapwickschool.com
DSP St David’s CollegeLlandudnowww.stdavidscollege.co.uk

 

Some mainstream boarding schools have a designated unit or centre providing specialist tuition.

SchoolTownWebsite
Barnardiston Hall Preparatory School Barnardiston, Suffolk www.barnardiston.com
Bedstone College Bucknell, Shropshire www.bedstone.org
Bethany School Cranbrook, Kent www.bethanyschool.org.uk
Bloxham School Banbury, Oxfordshire www.bredonschool.org
Brockhurst & Marlston House Schools Newbury, Berkshirewww.brockmarl.org.uk
Clayesmore Preparatory School Blandford Forum, Dorset www.clayesmore.com
Clayesmore School Blandford Forum, Dorset www.clayesmore.com
Clifton College Preparatory School Bristol, Avonwww.cliftoncollegeuk.com/prep
Cobham Hall School Cobham, Kent www.cobhamhall.com
Ellesmere College Ellesmere, Shropshire www.ellesmere.com
Finborough School towmarket, Suffolkwww.finboroughschool.co.uk
Fulneck School Leeds, West Yorkshire www.fulneckschool.co.uk
Hazlegrove Preparatory School Yeovil, Somerset www.hazlegrove.co.uk
Hordle Walhampton School Lymington, Hampshire www.hordlewalhampton.co.uk
Kingham Hill School Chipping Norton, Oxfordshirewww.kinghamhill.org.uk
King's School Bruton, Somerset www.kingsbruton.com
Kingsley School (The Grenville Dyslexia Centre) Bideford, Devon www.kingsleyschoolbideford.co.uk
Kingswood House SchoolEpsom, Surrey www.kingswoodhouse.org
Lime House School Carlisle, Cumbria www.limehouseschool.co.uk
Millfield School Street, Somerset www.millfieldschool.com
Millfield Preparatory School Glastonbury, Somerset www.millfieldprep.com
Sidcot School Winscombe, North Somerset www.sidcot.org.uk
Slindon College Arundel, Sussex www.slindoncollege.co.uk
Tettenhall College Wolverhampton, West Midlands www.tettenhallcollege.co.uk
Walhampton School Lymington, Hampshire www.walhampton.com
Wycliffe College Preparatory School Stonehouse, Gloucestershire www.wycliffe.co.uk
Wycliffe College Stonehouse, Gloucestershire www.wycliffe.co.uk

Subscribe / latest articles and news from our schools