Home   |   About Us   |   Advertise   |   Contact Us  
By clicking on this link you can obtain select schools prospectus through the post.
CLICK HERE...
 
 
 
     
 
 
 

Specialist schools – arts, drama, music

 
The specialist schools programme is a UK government initiative that encourages secondary schools in England to specialise in certain areas of the curriculum in order to boost achievement. The Specialist Schools and Academies Trust is responsible for the delivery of the programme. Currently there are nearly 3,000 specialist schools, or 88% of the state-funded secondary schools in England. The government plans that eventually all schools in England will specialise. In the independent sector the term ‘specialist’ tends to focus more on developing outstanding talents mainly in a range of extra-curricular activities such as drama, music and the arts. The principal independent boarding schools in music, dance and drama are covered below. 

Music and dance
The Music and Dance Scheme (MDS) is a government-funded scheme to provide support for talented musicians and dancers. You can find out more at www.education.gov.uk. There are nine MDS specialist schools throughout the UK, committed to the highest teaching standards in music and dance, alongside an excellent academic education. MDS schools are listed below.
 
Chetham’s School of Music www.chethams.com
Elmhurst School of Dance www.elmhurstdance.co.uk
St Mary’s Music School www.st-marys-music-school.co.uk
The Hammond School www.thehammondschool.co.uk
The Purcell School www.purcell-school.org
The Royal Ballet School www.royalballetschool.co.uk
Tring Park School for the Performing Arts www.tringpark.com
Wells Cathedral School www.wellscathedralschool.org
Yehudi Menuhin School www.yehudimenuhinschool.co.uk
 
 
Choir schools
The Choir Schools’ Association (CSA)
The CSA represents 46 schools attached to cathedrals, churches and college chapels around the country. Pupils have unlimited access to first-class schooling and musical training, giving them an excellent start in life. More than 1,200 of the 21,500 boys and girls in choir schools are choristers. Some CSA schools take children from 7–13; others are junior schools with senior schools to 18. The majority are Church of England foundations, but the Roman Catholic, Scottish and Welsh churches are all represented. The majority are fee paying, with nine out of ten choristers qualifying for financial help with fees from the school or through the government’s Choir Schools’ Scholarship Scheme. To find out more, go to www.choirschools.org.uk
 
Day or boarding?
Choristers at about 20 choir schools are day pupils. These days only a dozen or so require all choristers to board. Others offer the choice if parents can demonstrate they can get their children to and from school in time for choir practice and services. The choir schools offering boarding are listed in the table below. 

 
Northern England      
The Chorister School Durham head.teacher@thechoristerschool.com www.choristers.durham.sch.uk
Lincoln Minster Prep School Lincoln enquiries.lincoln@church-schools.com www.lincolnminsterschool.co.uk
Chetham’s School Manchester chets@chethams.com www.chethams.com
Ampleforth College York admissions@ampleforth.org.uk www.college.ampleforth.org.uk
St James’ School Grimsby enquiries@saintjamesschool.co.uk www.saintjamesschool.co.uk
       
Central England      
Dean Close Preparatory School Cheltenham sabell@deanclose.org.uk www.deanclose.org.uk
Hereford Cathedral School Hereford schoolsec@hcsch.org www.herefordcsch.org
Lichfield Cathedral School Lichfield thepalace@lichfieldcathedralschool.com www.cathedralchoir.org.uk
Christ Church Cath. School Oxford schooloffice@cccs.org.uk www.cccs.org.uk
Magdalen Coll School Oxford admissions@mcsoxford.org www.mcsoxford.org
St George’s School Windsor registrar@stgwindsor.co.uk www.stgwindsor.co.uk
       
London      
St Paul’s Cathedral School London admissions@spcs.london.sch.uk www.st.pauls.co.uk
Westminster Abbey London headmaster@westminster-abbey.org www.westminster-abbey.org
Westminster Cathedral London office@choirschool.com www.choirschool.com
       
Eastern England      
King’s College School Cambridge office@kingscam.demon.co.uk www.kcs.cambs.sch.uk
St John’s College School Cambridge admissions@sjcs.co.uk www.sjcs.co.uk
The King’s School - Ely Junior School Ely admissions@kings-ely.cambs.sch.uk www.kings-ely-cambs.sch.uk
       
Southern England      
St Edmund’s School Canterbury juniorschool@stedmunds.org.uk www.stedmunds.org.uk
The Prebendal Schoo Chichester secretary-prebendal@btconnect.com www.prebendalschool.org.uk
The Cathedral School Exeter hmsec@exetercs.org www.exetercs.org
King’s Rochester - Preparatory School Rochester prep@kings-school-rochester.co.uk www.kings-school-rochester.co.uk
Salisbury Cathedral School Salisbury admissions@salisburycathedralschool.com www.salisburycathedralschool.com
Polwhele House School Truro info@polwhelehouse.co.uk www.polwhelehouse.co.uk
Wells Cathedral School Wells admissions@wells-cathedral-school.com www.wells-cathedral-school.com
The Pilgrims’ School Winchester hmsec@pilgrims-school.co.uk www.thepilgrims-school.co.uk
       
Wales      
The Cathedral School Llandaff registrar@cathedral-school.co.uk www.cathedral-school.co.uk

 
Specialist schools
School Address Phone Type PR Weblink
Tring Park School for the Performing ArtsTring Park, Tring, Hertfordshire. HP23 5LX01442 824255Bo, D, M, 8-19 
Salisbury Cathedral School1, The Close, Salisbury, Wiltshire. SP1 2EQ01722 439260Bo, D, M, 3-13 
 
 
Click on the cover to read the magazine in an interactive electronic format.

Many school advertisements have interactive links.

If you are having difficulties obtaining copies of Service Parents Guide to Boarding Schools magazine please
e-mail info@questonline.co.uk or call 01763 268120.

Alternatively, click here for your free copy
Back issues
Click here to view back issues of Service Parents Guide to Boarding Schools